Independent Public School

In 2013 both the WA College of Agriculture - Morawa and the Morawa District High School became Independent Public Schools. Whilst still remaining part of the public school system this initiative hands greater autonomy and flexibility to the school Principal in collaboration with their school community.

The College and the District High School are independent of each other but together they form a cluster, both have their own Boards that are elected by staff.

The Boards have very clearly defined roles and responsibilities , as set by the Department of Education;

They liase with other communities with the school e.g. the Parents and Citizens Association;

They hold an annual public meeting once in every calender year that is open to the public;

They help establish and review, the schools objectives, priorities and general policy directions;

They assist in planning the financial arrangements necessary to fund those objectives, priorities and directions;

They also evaluate the school's performance in achieving those objectives, priorities and directions; and formulating codes of conduct for students at the school;

The Board take part in the selection of, but not the appointment of, the school Principal or any other member of the teaching staff if prior approval is given by the Regional Executive Director.

The WA Colleges of Agriculture - Morawa, Independent Public Schools Board is made up of:

Jim Cook (Community Representative)
Clint Hansen (Community Representative)
Jarrad Kupsch  (Community/Industry Representative)
Nadine Hollamby(Staff Representative)
Andrew Denham (Parent Representative)
Anthony Sapienza(Staff Representative)
Jennifer Thomas (Industry Representative)
Sandy Connolly (Parent Representative)
Shelley Fowler (Parent Representative)
Merle Isbister (Community Representative)
Dean Carslake (Principal)
Bronwyn Thornton (Corporate Services Manager)
Maryanne Milloy-Rakich (IPS Assistant)
Norah Flanders (Deputy Principal)
Steven Taylor (Residential Manager)

All Board members can be contacted through the front office on 99711158. 

IPS Review Summary 2019 IPS Review Summary 2019 (212 KB)

IPS Review Summary IPS Review Summary (1481 KB)

Delivery Performance Agreement 2016 -2018 Delivery Performance Agreement 2016 -2018 (472 KB)

We now have available on line  IPS Board minutes for 2016, if you would like to read minutes prior to that please contact the College directly.

IPS Minutes March 2016 IPS Minutes March 2016 (154 KB)

IPS Minutes June 2016 IPS Minutes June 2016 (366 KB)

IPS Minutes September 2016 IPS Minutes September 2016 (1702 KB)

IPS Minutes November 2016 IPS Minutes November 2016 (811 KB)

2017 minutes

IPS Minutes March 2017 IPS Minutes March 2017 (1040 KB)

IPS Minutes May 2017 IPS Minutes May 2017 (1006 KB)

IPS Minutes September 2017 IPS Minutes September 2017 (1025 KB)

IPS Minutes November 2017 IPS Minutes November 2017 (1439 KB)

2018 minutes

IPS Minutes March 2018 IPS Minutes March 2018 (1168 KB)

IPS Minutes June 2018 IPS Minutes June 2018 (992 KB)

IPS Minutes September 2018 IPS Minutes September 2018 (144 KB)

IPS Minutes November 2018 IPS Minutes November 2018 (1027 KB)

2019 minutes

IPS Minutes March 2019 IPS Minutes March 2019 (1022 KB)

IPS Minutes June 2019 IPS Minutes June 2019 (1035 KB)

IPS Minutes September 2019 IPS Minutes September 2019 (1042 KB)

IPS Minutes November 2019 IPS Minutes November 2019 (774 KB)